First must read authors?

Who was your first must read authors? I had two whom I discovered at the same time, Diana Palmer and Jayne Ann Krentz.
My mom worked at Woolworth and I had gone to meet her for lunch and in the bin were those
Encore romances, they had three complete stories in an anthology, and one had Jayne Castle’s
Queen of Hearts where I found for the first time a strong willed heroine. The heroine was nothing like I had ever read before and began my love of anything by Jayne Ann Krentz and all the other names she has written under since. It has been one of my missions to get her Jayne Bentley’s.
I have yet to get them, but there is always hope.

The other author I discovered in that bin was Diana Palmer. Ms Palmer had the first characters where she ripped your heart out and enjoyed watching the hero grovel his way back into her good graces. Diana Palmer for me is like a comfort read. I have read everything she has written under all her names as well. I still have hope to have a book starring Mr Smith from True Colors
with me as heroine. 🙂

So who where your first must read authors?

7 thoughts on “First must read authors?

  1. Hi Barb, my very first must read author was Stephen King, many many MANY years ago. 🙂 Still think he's one of the greatest writers ever, although he never gave me the romance I wanted–I do so love my romance with my terror, lol. On my latest must read: JR Ward, Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Shana Abe, Jennifer Ashley, Kathryne Kennedy and oh so many others. This list could go on for pages! I'm such a book ho. 🙂

  2. Hi Barb – great job on your first blog! 🙂 I don't remember a favorite author, but I do remember the books being those little Harlequin books – they were (and are) just the best! lol

  3. Hi Barb! Love it. My first one… Lora Leigh and our Lori. Once I read Hard to Handle I had to get her entire backlist. And Lora… Wild Card had me at hello.Wendi

Leave a Reply

