Review: Bedding the Wrong Brother by Virna DePaul

Review: Bedding the Wrong Brother
by Virna DePaul
Amazon Digital
Contemporary

Amazon Purchase link

Melina, Max and Rhys have been friends for a long time but while she always loved Max he never made her want to rip his clothes off but Rhys is another story. Rhys doesn’t think his lifestyle is something that he could offer Melina.  Working as a magician with his brother they are about to get the big break they have been wanting a job with a cruise line.   He doesn’t thin he could give Melina the life she deserves traveling all the time and if they get the job they will spend the better part of the year on the high seas.

Melina works as an entomologist and is more comfortable in an academic setting, and has slowly had her exes make her believe that there was something wrong with her. She wants to settle down and feels she has found the right candidate but she wants to know how to keep him happy sexually. She decides to ask Max to tutor her in how to seduce a man.

But her one night with Max turns out to be a hot weekend with Rhys. Will they both be able to walk away when the weekend is over?

 BEDDING THE WRONG BROTHER simply rocks.  It was funny, hot the love scenes will have you looking for ice.  I just fell in for Rhys and Melina and also their friends and relatives who I hope will have stories of their own someday.  The minute I started reading BEDDING THE WRONG BROTHER I could not put it down. I just loved how Rhys showed Melina that there was nothing wrong with her and that just maybe the people who needed schooling were her exes.

This was my first book by Virna DePaul but it is definitely not the last. I cannot wait to get through her back list and any future releases she has coming out.

EXCERPT:

“What would you do to have me?”
She stared at him blankly. “Excuse me?”
Reaching out, he rubbed his thumb against her bottom lip, loving the way her eyelids suddenly grew heavy. “That’s the question for you to think about. What would you do to have me? Sexually, of course.”
Her brows furrowed. “I’m not sure I understand the question. In the context of our—our agreement, I suppose I’ll do whatever you tell me pleases you.”
“So that’s how you plan on handling the next man in your life? Letting him have carte blanche? Anything goes?”
“Well…”
“Bondage?”
Her eyes rounded. “I guess it depends….”
“Sex toys?”
She glanced away, blushing to the roots of her hair. “I—I don’t have a problem with—”
“How about multiple partners? Two women? Two men?”
Her eyes snapped back to his. “No. I’m not having any luck keeping one partner satisfied. I don’t need an extra person in my bed to worry about.”
“How do you know that’s your stopping point? Have you ever tried it?”
“No. I’ve never tried eating worms, either, but I know that’s never going to happen.”
“Okay, so you have a definite sense of what you wouldn’t do. Not so much of what you would.”
“Why don’t you just tell me what you want, and I’ll let you know if it’s something I’m not comfortable with.”
His expression grew serious. “And is that where your willingness to learn ends? With the obvious answer?”
She reacted just as he expected she would. Challenge Melina’s thirst for knowledge and complexity, and expect her to sit quietly and take it? No way. Hands on hips, she thrust her chin out. “Just what are you getting at, Rhys?”
“You know as well as I do that sometimes the key to learning is figuring things out for yourself. Why wouldn’t that apply in this situation, as well?”
She came very close to pouting. “Seems to me this is a trick question.”
He laughed. “It can’t be, because the answer is what it is. If you’re willing to do what I ask and nothing more, then that’s the answer.”
“You’re talking in circles,” she cried. “I don’t want to guess what I need to do. I want to know. That’s the whole reason I asked Max for help. I don’t want to play the game just to fail again.”
His heart skipped as he saw the real distress in her eyes. “Baby, you’re not going to fail. There’s no way that’s possible.”
She just shook her head, biting her lip until he wanted to take her in his arms and hold her close. So that’s what he did. He pulled her in for a hug and rocked her. She let him hug her but didn’t return it. Soon, she pulled away.
“I’m sorry. I obviously can’t even do this right. I think I should just leave.”
“Is that what you really want?” he asked quietly to mask his own desperation. “To quit before we even get started?”
“No. But I don’t understand why you’re making this so complicated.”
“Because despite what you obviously think, men are complicated. Pleasure is complicated. It’s not just a matter of telling someone what I like. It’s about you figuring it out. Reading the signs. Learning to trust your instincts. And then acting even though it makes you uncomfortable. Because you know that in the end, the pleasure’s going to be worth it.”
One thought on “Review: Bedding the Wrong Brother by Virna DePaul

Leave a Reply

